Trentino-Alto Adige (or Trentino-South Tyrol) is an autonomous, partly German-speaking Alpine region of northern Italy bordering Graub√ľnden to the west and Austrian Tyrol to the north. The region comprises two autonomous provinces, Bolzano, which is officially bilingual, and Trento.
Curon Venosta
A surprising place on the edge of the artificial lake of Resia. In the centre of a lagoon stands the bell tower of the old village, which was swallowed up when the Resia dam was built in 1950.
Prato allo Stelvio
This small town of just under 4,000 inhabitants is located in Val Venosta (Vinschgau), the long valley that runs down from the Austrian border through the Italian South Tyrol. From here the road to the Stelvio and Umbrail passes starts.
Reschen Pass
The Resia Pass (Italian: Passo di Resia, German: Reschenpass), at an altitude of 1507 m, is located in the German-speaking Italian region of South Tyrol, about 1.5 km south of the Austrian border.
South Tyrol
An Alpine region in central Europe, the former County of Tyrol, a possession of Austria-Hungary, was divided between Austria and Italy after the First World War. The south is nowadays part of the autonomous Italian region of Trentino-Alto Adige, which is largely German-speaking.
Tonale Pass
On the border between Lombardy and Trentino-Alto Adige, the Tonale Pass connects Val di Sole with Val Camonica at an altitude of 1883 metres. It was once a very important international crossing point.
© 1988-2023
All rights reserved for all countries